Works of Sri Aurobindo

open all | close all



a Legend and a Symbol









Book One


The Book of Beginnings


Canto I


The Symbol Dawn


Canto II


The Issue


Canto III


The Yoga of the King: The Yoga of the Soul’s Release


Canto IV


The Secret Knowledge


Canto V


The Yoga of the King: The Yoga of the Spirit’s Freedom and Greatness


Book Two


The Book of the Traveller of the Worlds


Canto I


The World-Stair


Canto II


The Kingdom of Subtle Matter


Canto III


The Glory and the Fall of Life


Canto IV


The Kingdoms of the Little Life


Canto V


The Godheads of the Little Life


Canto VI


The Kingdoms and Godheads of the Greater Life


Canto VII


The Descent into Night


Canto VIII


The World of Falsehood, the Mother of Evil and the Sons of Darkness


Canto IX


The Paradise of the Life-Gods


Canto X


The Kingdoms and Godheads of the Little Mind


Canto XI


The Kingdoms and Godheads of the Greater Mind


Canto XII


The Heavens of the Ideal


Canto XIII


In the Self of Mind


Canto XIV


The World-Soul


Canto XV


The Kingdoms of the Greater Knowledge


Book Three


The Book of the Divine Mother


Canto I


The Pursuit of the Unknowable


Canto II


The Adoration of the Divine Mother


Canto III


The House of the Spirit and the New Creation


Canto IV


The Vision and the Boon




Book Four


The Book of Birth and Quest


Canto I


The Birth and Childhood of the Flame


Canto II


The Growth of the Flame


Canto III


The Call to the Quest


Canto IV


The Quest


Book Five


The Book of Love


Canto I


The Destined Meeting-Place


Canto II




Canto III


Satyavan and Savitri


Book Six


The Book of Fate


Canto I


The Word of Fate


Canto II


The Way of Fate and the Problem of Pain


Book Seven


The Book of Yoga


Canto I


The Joy of Union; the Ordeal of the Foreknowledge of Death and the Heart’s Grief and Pain


Canto II


The Parable of the Search for the Soul


Canto III


The Entry into the Inner Countries


Canto IV


The Triple Soul-Forces


Canto V


The Finding of the Soul


Canto VI


Nirvana and the Discovery of the All-Negating Absolute


Canto VII


The Discovery of the Cosmic Spirit and the Cosmic Consciousness


Book Eight


The Book of Death


“Canto III”


Death in the Forest




Book Nine


The Book of Eternal Night


Canto I


Towards the Black Void


Canto II


The Journey in Eternal Night and the Voice of the Darkness


Book Ten


The Book of the Double Twilight


Canto I


The Dream Twilight of the Ideal


Canto II


The Gospel of Death and Vanity of the Ideal


Canto III


The Debate of Love and Death


Canto IV


The Dream Twilight of the Earthly Real


Book Eleven


The Book of Everlasting Day


Canto I


The Eternal Day: The Soul’s Choice and the Supreme Consummation


Book Twelve




The Return to Earth


Note on the Text